Workin’ on my Fitness

Happy Tuesday (even though it’s raining and gloomy!)

I really wanted to try running again today, after scoping out my new neighborhood. Lots of great, safe trails–I’m pumped. Yesterday I went for a nice walk when the sun finally came out… now I know a better way to get to the bakery! 😛

I was 8 weeks into my training for the Berlin marathon when I found out I was pregnant.  I raced in two 10K’s, a 5 miler, and a half marathon before knowing I was prego.  So needless to say, I was in the best shape of my life.  I’m looking forward to racing (and running) again, but the other day I thought, I didn’t have to give up running completely (as I did after I found out I was pregnant).  Sure, I’ve ran on the treadmill a few times, but I’ve been trying to take it easy, since my doc told me to stay at 140 beats per minute or less.  Plus, the belly feels funny when I run.  The lack of use of my abdominals–formerly strong–is tough for me to handle some days, and I find myself dreaming of a tight tummy.  But for now…

I wanted to share my research, albeit limited, on exercising while pregnant.

“What to Expect when you’re Expecting” says “Most practitioners not only permit but encourage expectant moms whose pregnancies are progressing normally to continue their accustomed workout routines and athletic pursuits for as long as is practical…”  Other info garnished from Expecting: exercise for 30 minutes a day, moderately, on most days.  If you didn’t already know, exercise helps with: stamina, sleep, health, mood, back pain, muscle cramps, bowels, labor, and postpartum recovery! (Note to self: refer to this list when the couch is calling more louding than the gym/pool/trails)  Babies of moms who exercise regularly end up being: more fit, smarter, and easier (sleep thru the night, less colics, able to sooth themselves better).  Wow! 

Another book, “The Mother of All Pregnancy Books” by Ann Douglas says, “your labor is likely to be shorter and less complicated if you’re in good physical condition when those first contractions hit.”  Oooh, I could definitely go for shorter and less complicated!

So, I would like to commit to at least 30 minutes a day, every day (except the rest days that we all need sometimes).  You all are my witness.  My new favorite exercise is laps at the pool, but I also bought a Lindsay Brin prego DVD.  It has both cardio and  yoga, and I’ve really enjoyed it the past few weeks when the weather is crappy.

For now, I’m enjoying being pregnant. But being back to my old self will be quite nice too 🙂

Finishing 13.1 miles in record time

(Baby was with me during this race, as a tiny 4-week old embryo)

Will you commit to 30 minutes a day with me?  What do/did you do during pregnancy to stay motivated and fit??

 

This entry was posted in exercise, pregnancy, trying new things. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Workin’ on my Fitness

  1. Kara says:

    So let me tell you that I think you writing a blog is pretty much the best thing EVER. I feel so far away from you & I wish I could talk to you everyday to see how you & baby are doing. So for now, I will settle for this! I miss you & look forward to seeing you in November. Keep up the 30 minutes a day :o)

  2. Pingback: Little Kicker | The Life of a New Momma (Living Overseas)

Leave a Reply

