Never have I Ever

I’ve been thinking lately, I have never wanted something so badly in my entire life. I mean, I wanted to break the school record in the triple jump real bad (didn’t happen). I wanted to get into my school of choice pretty badly too (that thankfully did happen).   Well, maybe wanting out of Iraq after 15 months trumps this situation… but we’ll disregard that for now so I can vent.

Now I want not an action, but a thing. And this thing I want is a stupid little identification booklet for my baby. Ridiculous. Or in the words of Austin Power, Ri-goddam-diculous!! (side note: I should have kept the first spelling of ridiculous because it perfectly illustrates how tired I am!)

So today, I marched into the passport office–after getting bad news yesterday that it didn’t come–and asked them point blank: “Where the !@#$%^&* is my baby’s passport??” Ok, maybe I didn’t use the “!@#$%^&*”. But I was mean about it, since nice hasn’t gotten me anywhere.
I said, “I need this passport, to ease my life.” You know what the guy says? [to the tune of “You Can’t Hurry Love” in case you don’t figure out why we’re talking weird]
“Oh you can’t hurry that. No, you’ll just have to wait. Those don’t come easy. It’s a game of paperwork.  You’ve got to trust, just give it time, no matter how long it takes.”

“But how many days must I stand before I get that email in my inbox that says ‘come pick up your passport’?  Right now the only thing that keeps me hanging on when I feel my strength is almost gone is the love for my sweet boy.  (And my loving husband and supportive family, but I wanted them to think I was losing my mind, because well, I kind of am!)  There is a way to get a rush on this, I know because other people have told me they’ve done it!”

So none of this actually took place.  That would be like something straight out of Glee (I love Glee, btw).  I haven’t even gone yet.  I’m so tired right now, that song came on at breakfast, so I made up a little tune to fit my situation 😉  It helps to try to laugh during tough times right?

To be continued…

Ok so it’s later now. I did go.  I got good news too.  The passport might be done, but they can’t tell me for sure because the embassy is closed today and was yesterday too.  So I’m crossing my fingers that it is actually done and ready for pick up, and they said I can even go and pick it up early next week (without waiting til Thursday!)  Sooo with any luck, I’ll be heading towards home mid-week!

Gabe is excited to see the U.S.:

Let's go Mom!

This entry was posted in Life with baby, passport. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Never have I Ever

  1. Pingback: A Day in the Park | The Life of a New Momma

Leave a Reply

