Milk & Cereal

This post isn’t all about milk and cereal. I really just wanted an excuse to post some cute pics of G-man eating his rice cereal. He’s not very good at it quite yet, but we’re making progress. Then I got to thinking about milk and cereal… How I used to LOVE Multigrain Cheerios when I was prego. Sometimes I’d put strawberries or raspberries in them. Oh so delish!!  Anyways…

Lately, I’ve been sort of up and down. It’s been a hard transition to go from working girl to SAHM within the past half a year. I’m caught between missing work and loving being home with the lil guy. I’m opening my own business in an attempt to bridge these two worlds and have the best of both 🙂 I hope it works out, but I know “If at first you don’t succeed, try try again.”

Sometimes I feel kind of discouraged about my new “job.” Being a mom is wonderful, but of course there are bad days as with anything else. Dealing with poop, pee, spit-up, drool, eye-boogers, nose boogers, crying and screaming on a daily basis can be tiring to say the least.  Add to that laundry, cleaning the house, paying the bills, and oh yeah a little bit of grad school, and it’s all I can do to squeeze in the time and motivation to work out once a day.  I don’t mean to complain, it’s just that sometimes a girl needs to vent you know?  Although many complaints are certainly legit, self-pity is not a good color on anyone, so I have been trying to focus on everything I’m grateful for.  Wonderful family.  Good health.  Solid roof over our heads.  Delicious food in our bellies.  The list could go on and on and on.  Gabe’s laughter is a joyous noise that I am super grateful for (although at this moment he is being very fussy!)  When J gets home from work and plays with our little boy, I just sit and smile and thank God for the great many blessings in our lives.

My thoughts are disjointed today, as I slept from midnight to 6 last night (darn Miami Heat game on til midnight!) and G-man got me up 3-4 times in those 6 hours… tired is the norm these days.  Anyone have any good suggestions for getting this boy to sleep thru the night?  Or at least do a 5-6 hour stretch?

I will leave you with a favorite song from when I used to go to church at West Point:

“Come to the feast of heaven and earth / Come to the table of plenty / God will provide for all that we need / Here at the table of plenty.”

I hope your table has plenty and that your heart is full of love.  I know mine is 🙂

This entry was posted in growth & development, mental health, Sleep. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

