It’s time for a Nappy Nap

Here a little update on G-man’s sleep situation:

Cry it out does not work for us. After that first night, when he cried for nearly 45 min (and I cried too!) I went searching for other options. My friend K let me borrow “The Baby Whisperer” and Oh. My. God. What a lifesaver that book is for me! I only wish I had read it before I had Gabriel. It is literally chock-full of all this amazing advice. Makes me want to throw away “What to Expect the First Year” and “The Mother of all baby books.” I thought those 2 books had me covered… Nope. Not even close. But as usual, I digress.

So my main mistake with Gabriel is not teaching him how to fall asleep on his own. We always held him, or I’d let him fall asleep at the boob.  Now that he’s almost 6 months old, both of these options are getting old.  He weighs probably 18 lbs or more, so just holding him takes a toll on my back.  The poor kid just doesn’t want to go to sleep.  As I write this, he’s in his crib crying.  I told myself I would let him cry 5 min–because obviously the last 45 min of rocking him and holding him meant nothing! lol–and at the 5 min mark he stopped crying!  Then 30 sec later he started back up.  What’s a mom to do?  I think he’s teething but doesn’t want his paci or teething ring so I don’t know.  Ahh the crying stopped again.  Maybe he’ll go to sleep for real this time?  It’s amazing how complex being a parent is.  You think (before baby), oh babies are simple.  They just eat, sleep, and poop.  And occasionally play.  (Crying is back on).  Well, eating in itself is complex.  Breastfeed or bottle or both?  When to start cereal?  How much to give?  When to start fruits and veggies?  Veggies first?  On and on.

Well, I started this post 10 days ago, and I have to say that in that 10 tens, there were 2 or 3 that Gabe slept a 6-7 hour stretch!!  YAY!  The cereal and fruit have definitely helped I think.  I’m getting better at distinguishing a hungry cry from one that says “Hold me, I’m having trouble falling asleep again.”  Daddy has been really supportive and spends as much “Daddy time” with G as he can, so Momma can stay sane 😉

I would share a sleeping pic with you, but the shutter is just loud enough to wake him, so I don’t want to take too many sleep pics anymore!  Here’s a few from my mom’s visit:

Next time, a review of my new favorite book, The Baby Whisperer!  And maybe it won’t take me 10 days to finish that post!

Also, not only is Gabe sleeping better, and eating solids, but the little guy is starting to really scoot/crawl.  It’s so amazing to watch him grow.  6 months on Saturday… where does the time go?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

