Technical Difficulties

Last week, while on a 13 hour or so trip back from my family’s, I downloaded WordPress for my iPhone.  I then tapped out a very long post, and happy with myself for finally updating, left it there to publish later when I had the time and energy (two things I am quite short on these days!)  Well, went back to my phone today and the whole post was gone.  I have no idea what I wrote about so here’s a brand-new update.  And yes, the temporary amnesia is probably due to sleep deprivation.  That issue hasn’t improved much.  Not much else to say about it.  We’ve tried all different methods. I just can’t leave him to cry it out.  He does give us a 5 hour stretch, then wakes usually every 2.5-3 hours after.  I have to take what I can get.  We are working on not feeding him at night, which is probably part if not all of the problem: he wakes up expecting to be fed.  If we don’t feed him, maybe he won’t wake up??  More to follow on that.

We were on vacation for about 10 days.  Each night on vacation was a challenge, as G-man slept in his pack ‘n’ play and woke up more often than usual.  Each day was a challenge because we had so much planned, and Gabe doesn’t like to miss out on any action, so his naps were short, or in the car seat, or skipped altogether.  This culminated in one very cranky baby, and two cranky parents, who had a good 600+ miles left to drive home.  Note to self: Do not attempt such vacations when baby is very little.  I thought by 7 months he would be more adaptable, but nope.  I guess it is a lot to handle for such a little guy.  We caught up with just about every family member on my mom’s side and some on my dad’s, plus friends, neighbors, etc.  Must be overwhelming meeting so many new people!  He’s been crawling and sitting up for a month now, but can also pull himself to standing.  He says “dadadada” and other syllables that sound like words, but don’t mean anything to him yet–at least not that we can tell.  The biggest progress I’ve seen with his language development is that sometimes when I ask for a kissie, he’ll plant a big wet one on me 🙂  I LOVE this.  Lots going on in the life of a little boy.

Anyways, we took our first mom & dad trip away from Gabe, and I got 9 blissful hours of sleep.  Only woke up once (2 AM) wondering why Gabe hadn’t cried, and once in the early morning to pump.  Side note: pumping is not a favorite past time of mine... incredibly boring watching droplets add up to a few ounces.  I’m at the point where I think it’s time to wean the little guy.  More about that in a later post.

I continue to work on school (1 class left!), my business (getting more and more clients), raising this active little guy, and trying to cook, clean, and all the other lovely things that SATMs do.  It’s a busy life, but I wouldn’t trade it for anything.  So really, the “technical difficulties” title isn’t appropriate.  There will always be difficulties.  How you react to them is what defines you, and your life.  I’m loving life, despite the difficulties, which end up being insignificant when you look at all the wonderful memories we create every day.  Here’s a smattering:

Here’s hoping that you have a wonderful day, and are able to face your difficulties with patience and grace.  xoxo!

This entry was posted in breast-feeding, growth & development, sleep. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Technical Difficulties

  1. Nici says:

    All moms go through very similar events. He will eventually sleep through the night, and the first time you wake up and realize that he didn’t wake up, you’ll probably freak out and run to check on him! I know I did. It looks like you are doing a wonderful job as a new mommy. Enjoy it, because it goes SO fast.

  2. MCH says:

    He is just too cute!!! Sorry the travels were so rough on the sleep bit, but how nice of your folks to give you a night ‘away’! It’s funny how some moments you feel so overwhelmed you can’t take it anymore, but then one little kiss or smile makes it ALL worth it 🙂

  3. Pingback: Mom & Dad Getaway to NYC: Day 1 | Runnin' Mom

Leave a Reply

