Relentlessly Positive

Life is tough.  It seems like everyone is struggling right now.  Trying to make ends meet.  Finding a job (in this case, I’m referring to me).  Grieving the loss of a very special person.  Or watching a loved one become ill and not get better.  Because of all this, lately I’ve tried to be more grateful than ever for what we do have.  Then I read one of my favorite athlete’s blogs here and I found an excellent quote to live by: “When things got tough, I did my best to be relentlessly positive.”

I’ve always tried to be positive but I often get hung up on the small stuff.  Little failures, or days when nothing seems to be going right.  Times have been tough for us lately, and even though there won’t be too many presents under the Christmas tree, I have exactly what I need: my little family (J & G-man & the kitties), my big family (who I saw almost all of them over Thanksgiving), my health, a roof over my head, and food in my belly (can you spare a pop-tart for my belly, Heather?)

So, I’m not trying to be that “Positive Patty” who is annoyingly positive, but I do think it’s possible to find good in even the worst situations.  And looking into little Gabe’s face everyday, I am constantly reminded how precious life is, how innocent and sweet, and just how special it is to be called “Momma.”  There is joy in struggling–we just have to find it 🙂

Quick G-man update: Gabe is eating like crazy and growing like a bad weed!  The sleep is going ok, still waking up 1-2 times a night, but this guy can sleep from 7 to 7 or even later (like today, I had to wake him up at 7:45).  He’s almost walking on his own but doesn’t want to let go yet.  He says mama, dada, and some other sounds that almost resemble words 😉

Here’s a collection of Gabe in the last 5 weeks (since I last posted 5 weeks ago)!  I’m gonna try to blog once a week from now on!

This entry was posted in growth & development, sleep, stay-at-home-mom. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Relentlessly Positive

  1. Pingback: Language Explosion | Runnin' Mom

Leave a Reply

