Sick Day(s)

I’ve been sick lately.  And by lately, I mean since… November.  Yep, ever since I had to spend time with a co-worker whose cough sounded like a bark.  Then I’d kick it, then I’d be sick again.  Nothing major, just a runny nose and some phlegm (ok, lots of phlegm… gross!  TMI, V! haha)  But after the move, and the new job, while still trying to train for the half-marathon… something had to give I guess.  And it was my health.  So Thursday, for the 2nd time in a month, I went to the doc.  At least this time I got higher-powered antibiotics, cuz this sinus infection is Nasty.  Yep, with a capital N.  The sad part is, I’ve been home from work for 2 days, taking all sorts of pills and things that should help, and it still feels like I’m swallowing a knife everytime I swallow.  I don’t mean to sound like I’m complaining though, because the moral of this story is:

I would MUCH rather be sick myself than take care of my sick child.

Thankfully *knock on wood* Gabe hasn’t gotten sick this time.  He and I both went to the Dr. the same day last month and both got the same standard amoxicillan.  His runny nose came back and he’s been picking at his ears, but his mood is pretty good, he’s eating well, and he’s sleeping good, so he’s gotta be feeling OK.

The bad part of me being sick and him being healthy is that, when I’m home supposed to be resting, J wanted to get some yard work done, and I’m not gonna hold him back.  So I watch Gabe, play with him, carry him up and down the stairs 10 times, and by the end…. utter exhaustion.  And an extreme lack of patience.  So after yelling at him and being a “mean mommy,” I have just one conclusion.  I need to get healthy, and I need to STAY healthy.  My life is side-tracked.  I can’t focus on work 100% because I’m blowing my nose, popping pills or cough drops, or filling up my water bottle (again).  At home I just want to rest, but Gabe is ready to play.  I can’t work out because I have zero energy and again, it feels like I’m swallowing knives.  On the plus side however, I saw the lowest # I’ve seen on the scale since long before Gabe was born!!!!  Ahhh, there’s a silver lining to everything 😉

It’s time for bed… hopefully I can sleep tonight without waking up every 45 minutes because of the pain.  Thank God for J being a sweetie and getting me whatever I needed.  “In sickness and in health.”  Let’s pray for that health to return… and when it does, I won’t take it for granted!  I promise!

Here’s to clear nasal passageways, a throat that feels lovely and not swollen, ears with no fluid, and a body that is sound and able to work out again.

And here’s to healthy children 🙂

This entry was posted in running, sickness, working mom. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sick Day(s)

  1. renee says:

    feel better soon! Wish I was there to help

  2. lilbecksxx says:

    Feel better 🙂 You know kitty cuddles solve everything!

  3. Pingback: A Day in the Park | The Life of a New Momma

  4. Pingback: Days 2 & 3 Struggles | The Life of a New Momma

Leave a Reply

