A Day in the Park

Yesterday Gabe and I set off on a little “adventure.”  Really, I just wanted to take some cute pics of him, as I try to do every Sunday.  I was looking for cottonwoods or other flowering trees, but the park in K-ville had neither.  It did have forsythia so I was happy 🙂   Gabriel was content to look at all that nature has to offer, so he ‘walked’ me all over the park.  At least he stayed on the trails this time!

This was one of those days that I want to remember exactly how he was (and stop me before I get all emo… he’s just growing so fast!)  J and I bought him some new shoes, size 5, and he got blisters from them days ago so I needed to limit his walking–and of course forgot the stroller.  Oops… good to know Mommy Brain is alive and well!  He did just fine trotting around and the blisters didn’t come back.  We haven’t cut G-man’s hair yet so it was nice and shaggy blowing in the breeze.  It was a gorgeous lower-60s and sunny day, and flowers were coming out everywhere.  I needed the fresh air and the boost in spirits after being sick.

Soon Gabe found a bridge with an incline on either side, and we practiced going up and down… and up and down some more.  On the steeper side, he allowed his momma to hold his hand, but immediately tugged it away when he was feeling independent again.  We stopped to watch a girl on a scooter.  Some little kids found a snake and shouted, and I thought, someday that will be Gabe and his friends.  Please don’t grow too fast.

Lately, I’ve been amazed at how far we’ve come.  At this time last year, we were in our first week in the house in GA.  We suffered 6 weeks without Daddy while waiting for the passport.  I was a very new momma and really didn’t know what to do, but we got thru it, didn’t we?  Now Gabe is making more efforts at talking, doing cute things like dancing and clapping and waving, and growing out of his 12 month clothes.  And wearing shoes… that he can darn near run in!

So, I’m making every effort I can to enjoy each and every day, and all that it brings.  Be it wet kisses, sharing apples, whining in the playpen, dropping each and every toy OUT of the playpen, throwing food everywhere, climbing up the stairs again and again and again, sprouting molars, singing “ba-BA-ba,” middle-of-the-night wake-ups, grabbing the toilet plunger to play with, and giving the best hugs when I come home from work each day.  To say I feel truly blessed is an understatement.  I feel like I’m living the dream… please don’t wake me 🙂

Sunday at the park:

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

