Date Night, Accident Prone, & Coffee Cake recipe

There’s no March madness for me… I really don’t get into it. So I’ll have my own March “madness”. Hence the title of this post 😉
Tonight J and I got to go on date night. These have been few and far in between for the past year but I think we’ll be able to go more regularly now, which is Awesome! Nothing like some time without baby to remember life BC (before child). We saw 21 Jump Street. It had some very funny scenes, but about 3/4 of the way thru, the plot was weird, the humor had vanished, and I got bored. At least the popcorn and time with J made it worth it! We got an awesome baby-sitter who loves Gabe, and he loves her too, so I know he’s well taken care of while were gone. And there’s a lot to be said for peace of mind like that.  And hubs got a job offer this week (yay! he wasn’t even looking)–so it looks like we’ll be searching for a day care soon too.

Yesterday Gabriel was 14 months old.  It was also a year since Grandma Cable passed away.  I wish she had gotten to meet her only great-grandchild.  I find comfort knowing she’s in a better place, and smiling down on us.  Grandma would have loved Gabriel, and he would have loved her.  We sure do miss her.  “You’ll be with me / like a hand print on my heart.”  –from “For Good,” Wicked musical

1 year old me with my Grandma

Little man has been exploring his world and getting around so well… which leads to some falls.  He face-planted in the yard yesterday, slipped on the floor last night, and almost fell down a few stairs today–thankfully I caught him!  We’ve baby-proofed, but we can’t Gabe-proof I guess… so definitely have to be vigilant at all times.  We’ve been so fortunate that he hasn’t had an major injuries (except for that huge goose-egg when he fell into the table in Nov.)  *knock on wood!*  Gabe knows several body parts now, and can show you when you ask–belly, ears, nose, tongue, and big toe.  Why the big toe?  Cuz he likes to stick it in his mouth of course 😛

Little Explorer

I have the most glorious counterspace in our new kitchen so I’m in a cooking mood more often.  Today I decided I’d make a coffee cake that I made once before.  It’s my aunt’s recipe, and it’s normally called Sour Cream Coffee Cake.  Well, I’m not a fan of the fat in sour cream, and since plain Greek yogurt tastes just like sour cream, and has no fat and lots of protein, I did a trade.  Without further ado, a delish–and EASY–coffee cake recipe:

Greek Yogurt Coffee Cake

Beat 4 eggs til thick and fluffy.  Add 1/2 cup sugar, 3/4 cup oil, and mix again.  Mix in one package yellow cake mix, 3/4 cup chopped nuts (I used walnuts), and 8 oz. plain Greek yogurt.  Pour half the batter into a greased bundt cake pan.  Sprinkle 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1 tablespoon cinnamon on batter.  Swirl with a knife.  Pour remaining batter on top.  Bake 45-60 min at 350*.

It turns out light, moist, and delish!  Here’s how much is left after 5 people got to it:

So good you'll go back for seconds before the first is gone!

Like my yellow cake pan?  Me too… my momma got it for me.  She takes such great care of me 🙂  And the yellow is a fun inspiration from one of my favorite bloggers!

Do the ladies in your family like to bake?  We do!  My cousin even started her own blog about it!  Here’s a wonderful shot of us baking together, taken from my grandmother’s tribute slideshow:

Don't mind the nerdy one on the right 😉

This photo is another reminder to me that taking photos of the day-to-day ‘monotony’ of life will someday become a cherished memory.  In the moment, we take it for granted.  We think baking in Grandma’s kitchen is a normal activity, something we’ll do forever.  I haven’t baked in Grandma’s kitchen for maybe 10 years now… and haven’t baked with my own mom for awhile either.  So here’s a reminder to you and to me–take pictures of the small things, the everyday, the stuff you think you’ll always have.  Because you’ll be really glad you did someday.

He'll hang onto my finger when he needs help--it touches my heart every time

This entry was posted in growth & development, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

