Eating Clean starts… NOW!

Tomorrow I start a 10-day challenge. Eating right, exercising, drinking plenty of water, and having one Shakeology shake each day. I’m hoping this will be the kick in the butt I need to A) get back on track to eating healthy, and B) lose these last few post-pregnancy pounds that are stubborn as an old mule! (to use a quote from my momma).  If you’re into fitness and nutrition, or want to be, or want to start making some changes yourself, read on for some motivation 🙂

This is a buddy team, so my friend V and I will be doing this together (adding lbs lost at the end of 10 days), with the help of LD, a friend who I met thru a friend of mine AW.  LD (Lindsey) sent us a menu, the 10 Shakeology packets, and had plenty of energetic/inspirational messages to get me pumped about this!  Let me know if you would like to see her links to check out what Shakeology is all about, or see how Lindsey went from average Jane to a buff chica ready to walk down the aisle looking fabulous (WordPress won’t allow me to post the actual links… kinda crappy!).  This girl has confidence, knowledge, and basically kicks major @$$, and is willing to help me find my confidence again.  I used to kick booty too… but in the past few months, I’ve been stressed, sick, and making very poor choices when it comes to my nutrition.

Take last week for example:  I ate out not once, not twice, but a good bad 5 times.  Yikes!  As you probably know, eating out comes with plenty of extra sugar (in the lemonade or Sprite I’m inclined to order), extra salt (hello, McD’s french fries), and general fattiness and greasiness.  I don’t know how they cook the food, but I’m guessing they don’t use olive oil spray like I do at home.  And who knows what’s really in McDonald’s food?  Anyways, I like eating out–who doesn’t right?!–but when it comes to making healthy choices, I’m tempted to just eat what sounds good.  In the next 10 days, I might eat out once or twice.  I really want to stick to this plan though.

So here’s what I do now, then I’ll tell you what I will be changing.

Diet: breakfast is 2 eggs, fried with olive oil spray, and a half bagel or slice of wheat toast.  Sometimes I have a slice of Velvetta cheese on the eggs, or I use a Laughing Cow cheese spread that’s 35 calories (did I mention yet I hate counting calories?  Luckily, this 10 day plan doesn’t require it!)  My mid-morning snack is usually an Oikos greek yogurt with almonds in it.  At lunch I go to the YMCA and do 25-30 min of running, CrossFit, or a combo of both.  Eventually I will implement swimming and biking too, in preparation for the Ramblin’ Rose.  When I get back to my desk, I eat whatever I brought–leftover lasagna, rice and beans with chicken, a salad, a sandwich.. whatever I happened to make.  This is usually pretty healthy but sometimes I don’t bring enough, or anything at all if I overslept, or the fridge at work dies on me randomly, so then I resort to eating from the vending machine… not a pretty sight in terms of choices.  I might have a Kashi mini-chocolate bar for dessert, or a handful of Planter’s energy mix (my fave!)  Mid-afternoon, I might have a string cheese or almonds and/or an apple.  Dinner is where it all goes to crap and I eat whatever… something quick and easy.  Leftovers, a sandwich or salad.  Whatever I can find.  And I know that what I eat affects everything: sleep, my workout performance, whether or not I workout at all, my energy levels.  It’s all connected.  So the diet is definitely my weakest link.

Here’s my plan for tomorrow (Day 1!)  Breakfast is going to be my Shakeology meal, and I’ll be making one called Chocolate Covered Strawberries.  Don’t let the bananas fool you, they just happened to be sitting there.

Mmmm I hope it tastes as good as it sounds!  BTW, I’ve had Shakeology once, courtesy of AW, it was chocolate and semi-delish.  I got made fun of at work for it (guess it looked like mud or something) but I didn’t mind it.  Snack is a cup of fresh veggies with 2 T. hummus. 

My workout tomorrow is 30 min of CrossFit, followed by a lunch of Chicken Quesadilla wrap (too lazy to type out the recipe, but message me or Lindsey and we will share!) 

Afternoon snack is an apple with 1 T. peanut butter, and dinner will be flank steak with baked potato and steamed veggies. 

Bon appetit!  That doesn’t sound so bad at all.  We’ll see if the portions keep me full and my energy up.  I’m resolving to do this for the next 10 days–but I won’t let myself starve! lol

I’m going to do my before weight in the morning, and I got my measurements, well the main 3–hip, waist, chest, on Friday.  Let the challenge begin!

*****

A quick Gabe update thrown on the end.  Last, but certainly not least.  He was so fun today.  His naps and bedtime have been so smooth… maybe a fuss or a cry, but nothing like the 15-min of pain I endured a month or so again (the pain being on my part more than his, I’m hoping!)  Last night, he slept a full 12 hours without so much as a peep, and woke up smiling 🙂  That’s my kind of morning!

G-man has been super picky.  One day he’ll eat carrots, next day he won’t.  Ditto for various other foods.  Tonight I was so glad to see he ate nearly all of his cucumbers, strawberries, banana, and peanut butter with crackers, then he munched on baked sweet potato fries with me.  I just love knowing he’s getting good nutrition.  I have to shake my head at myself sometimes, because I care so much about what he eats, yet I’ve been ignoring my own nutrition to a large extent.  Well not anymore!

You ate all the yogurt Mom!

Lastly, Gabe has been understanding much more lately.  I ask him to do something and he might just do it now, whereas before my request would be ignored.  He wants to read books all the time, and has been talking in his own language, but some of the words are starting to make sense to us now (his “Thank you” is my fave, it sounds like “tee tee” but I know he means thank you!)  This weekend he learned to climb up and down the couch/chairs.  Lord help me!  It makes me nervous that he’ll fall off.  Gabriel has been and continues to be one of the biggest blessings in my life.

Look at him with the remote… typical male!

I’m hoping to blog at least every other day for this 10-day challenge, so I’ll keep you posted very soon!  Have a wonderful week!

This entry was posted in recipes, running, Shakeology, Sleep, trying new things, working mom. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Eating Clean starts… NOW!

  1. Kelly Leese says:

    I am so excited that you are starting this awesome journey to a healthier you! And Gabe is just too cute! You are going to feel great, look great and BE GREAT! Keep taking awesome steps in the wonderful journey! I am rooting for you!

  2. Pingback: 4th of July Fun & “Doing It All” | Runnin' Mom

  3. Pingback: Beach Body {No more cupcakes!} | Runnin' Mom

Leave a Reply

