Finally (Already?) Fall

Halfway thru October today.  On one hand, I’m so glad the weather is cooler, after all these months of heat.  But on the other hand, is it really already October?!  I’m literally wondering where September went.  It was a blur…  I guess it was spent doing great things like running, hanging with Gabe, crashing my bike, and figuring out how to be/have more fun {the fun project is still ongoing–please feel free to send suggestions of new things to try!}

Tonight, I am le tired.  If you don’t know what I mean, then you better click the link.  Right now.  What are you waiting for, it’s really funny!  Or at least it was back in the day when I was a cadet.  But I said that to say (and to get you to chuckle) that I won’t be saying much tonight.  Just that I’m thankful for friends–we had some over on Saturday and had a blast–and thankful more than ever for family.

Many of my friends are observing National Pregnancy & Infant Loss Remembrance Day today, and it’s something that breaks my heart.  Two weeks ago, Gabe and I went to a children’s cancer walk to support our friend V, who lost her daughter Jade to childhood cancer.  Talk about sobering… these are kids who survived cancer, of all things to happen to a child.  They released balloons in honor of the ones who weren’t there with us.  And they played basically the saddest song ever–I was crying my eyeballs out.  I just can’t imagine losing a baby, or a toddler, or a fetus.  It’s way too much for me to fathom.  But several of my friends have had to face that.  I cannot believe how strong they are.  So for V, and CH, and all the others who have lost children, I’m thinking of you tonight.  Of Jade, and Cale, and the babies who didn’t even have names yet.  I have no idea how to transition away from this topic, because I want to dwell on it a moment… I want to give these babies the time and love and attention that they deserve.

I didn’t intend on writing this much, but I wanted to say something in remembrance of these beautiful little people who don’t have the chance to grow into big people.  I am thinking of you and your families tonight, and sending love and prayers your way.

Going with our fall theme, a few pics from yesterday.  Gabriel had a blast with this leaf while I took pics.  And now, in addition to knowing the word camera, he also knows “picture.”  What a smartie 🙂

Lastly, there’s 3 weeks til my marathon, so the running has ramped up and I can finally say I’m tapering!  Javi is staying busy with classes, so I have all this time to blog away.  And thank God I do, because I’ve been feeling Old lately, and getting amnesia.  So at least this way, I know what happened to September!  Have a wonderful week friends!

This entry was posted in new words, photography, Power of thanks, running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

