The Aftermath

I find that the week after a big race is kind of a let-down.  It happened with the Tri, and to some degree the Salem Lake 30K, and now yes, again, with the marathon.  I’ve worked and trained and planned, and finally the race comes and I execute–all of that feels great!  Especially meeting my goals–that part is just amazing.  I am so thankful that my body stayed strong and healthy for all these months and allowed me to perform at the level where I want to be.  When all of that is over… in the following days, I might be a little sore (yep still feeling it 4 days later) but it’s kinda like the goal was there for so long, and *bam* it came and went, just like that.  I’m trying to dwell on the good, that I reached my goal!  Of course, at the same time, I’m looking ahead to what’s next.  Always trying to improve, try something new, create a better me.  A better V 🙂  Meanwhile, I juggle all the balls that are my life.  Wasn’t thinking I’d be so random tonight.  I meant to just write about Gabe.

So tonight Gabe wanted to read his usual books, and lately he’s been actually sitting thru them, letting me read them entirely, and he knows many of the words and will say them along with me.  He loves to say “Stop dog stop” from Go Dog Go and *pop!* from The Very Hungry Caterpillar.  He’s up to the letter K in his ABCs, but of course not all the letters are pronounced correctly.  Gabe just impresses me every day with what he knows and what he’s capable of.  He’s very big into holding things, so he will hold the fork or the plate and take it to the sink for me.  And tonight, a big improvement: I asked him to pick up a noodle on the floor and throw it away, and lo and behold, he did it!  Usually it would go into his mouth 😉  Another phrase he loves is “I did it!” and he loves to shut doors and use that phrase when done.  Such a cutie!  Here are some pics from Sunday of him playing in the leaves.

Tonight I’m a thankful wife, momma, daughter, sister, employee, and athlete.  My husband takes such good care of me.  I love watching our son grow.  I’m eagerly awaiting my parents’ and brothers’ arrival in 2 weeks for Thanksgiving.  My job challenges me every day, but in a good way, and my co-workers are awesome to work with.  And my legs carried me thru 26.2 miles on Sunday, miles that I ran for my grandma, family, friends, co-workers….  So I guess the let-down is gone, and replaced by feeling fulfilled.  I find that the best way to turn a negative feeling around, is to look at it in a different way.  A quote from the inspiring 7 Habits of Highly Effective People class I took a few weeks back:

“There are two ways to live: you can live as if nothing is a miracle, or you can live as if everything is a miracle.” – Albert Einstein

I absolutely love that quote, and it’s been a source of inspiration for me in the past few weeks.  Have a wonderful Friday tomorrow, and enjoy the crisp fall weather!

This entry was posted in marathon training, photography, Power of thanks, running, Things they say. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Aftermath

  1. Pingback: Habit 1: Be Proactive — You Choose Your Life | Runnin' Mom

Leave a Reply

