NYC Getaway, Day 2 {Wicked & Strip House!}

After an early wake-up (and early night time) on Day 1, our second day started off with sleeping in–always a glorious thing, as parents.  We don’t get to sleep in nearly enough these days!  We headed over to the Red Flame and found it pretty darn busy for breakfast, but we managed to get a table (the same one as the night before–nice coincidence!)  I was still feeling somewhat sick, but had some eggs & toast.

Since it was already late in the morning, we headed uptown for my surprise for Javi–a surprise that did not pan out at all 😦  I had not checked the website closely enough.  I wanted to do a tour of Yankee Stadium, for my baseball aficionado husband, but due to opening day being just days away, it was closed.  We did get a few pics outside, and saw the gift shop, but I was disappointed we couldn’t see the inside, nor go in the museum.  Live ‘n’ learn though!  The nearby McDonald’s was interesting too 🙂

We headed back downtown on the Metro–definitely a distinct difference between the Bronx and Manhatten.  Back downtown, we walked over to Central Park and the Metropolitan Museum of Art.  It was SUPER crowded, and Javi said that it probably wouldn’t hold a candle to the Louvre anyway, so we went on.  Found a hot dog vendor in the park and sat down for an impromptu late lunch.  Walked past gorgeous Belvedere Castle–and forgot to snap my own pic in my haste:

imagesWe headed back to the hotel to freshen up (aka nap + shower) before our incredible night out.  We decided to dress up all fancy for our big night:

Several years back (Feb. ’06) my friend Heather D. and I met her dad in NYC for Presidents Day weekend.  He took us to the Strip House before we went to see The Producers on Broadway.  Though this was 7 (!!) years ago, that meal is still very vivid, as it was possibly one of the best I’ve ever had.  So naturally, I had to take Javi there, and it just so happened that the Strip House has a location that was about half a block from our hotel on 44th St.  Screen shot 2013-04-20 at 1.48.54 PM

Screen shot 2013-04-20 at 1.51.57 PMPhotos courtesy of Strip House website

The restaurant is swanky/romantic/fancy and the perfect place for a mom ‘n’ dad getaway 😉  We both chose steak–Javi the aged ribeye and me the filet mignon.  We had some excellent garlic bread with gorgonzola cheese as an appetizer, and fries + Brussels sprouts as sides.  Deeeeeeeeelish doesn’t even begin to describe it! A place like this is pricey, but worth every penny!  Javi and I couldn’t resist the 12 layer cake for dessert either, but only managed to eat about half (what we couldn’t finish, they boxed up for us, and we brought back for my parents–who loved it too!):

Screen shot 2013-04-20 at 1.57.25 PM

We sat and chatted for awhile as we relished our cake and ice cream… about all things, our life and how it’s evolved, Gabe, family, jobs, goals.  Couples need this time away to find each other again, and that’s what did.  We took our time walking to the Gershwin theater (I wore heels, after all!)  We arrived early–as Javi never fails to do! lol–and relished the excitement surrounding such an epic Broadway show:

Javi bought me a Wicked shirt (and cranberry juice) before the show began.  We had 6th row, orchestra left, seats that were out of this world–I literally felt as though the characters were singing directly to me!  I had high hopes for this show, and it did not disappoint.  I didn’t know the story, but did know Defying Gravity and For Good.  So, while those songs were performed, I was in 7th heaven–it was so incredibly powerful, it brought tears to my eyes.  The singing, dancing, humor, drama, special effects, music… I can’t even describe how amazing it was.  It truly blew us away!  I would see it again, for certain.  The show was the highlight of our trip 🙂

Afterwards, we walked thru Times Square, marveling at the lights, and the humanity:

A Lovely Evening.  One of our best ever.

….As someone told me lately / everyone deserves a chance to fly / and if I’m flying solo, at least I’m flying free / to those who ground me / take a message back from me / tell them how I am defying gravity / I’m flying high defying gravity … and nobody … is every gonna bring me down!   Elphaba, in Defying Gravity

…Who can say if I’ve been changed for the better / because I knew you, I have been changed for good… / You’ll be with me / Like a handprint on my heart / and now whatever way our stories end / I know you have rewritten mine / by being my friend.  Glenda & Elphaba

This entry was posted in Foodie Review, photography, travels sans kid. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to NYC Getaway, Day 2 {Wicked & Strip House!}

  1. Pingback: Mom & Dad Getaway to NYC: Day 1 | Runnin' Mom

  2. Pingback: Day 3 {Adios NYC & Hello Gabe!} | Runnin' Mom

Leave a Reply

