My Insanity Experience

I’ve been sort of MIA.  Part of that is due to Insanity.  I have been waking up at 5 AM (or at 4:50, on the days with the longer workouts), for basically the last 9 weeks.  I started on May 6th, and did my fifth and final Fit Test on July 7th.  *whew*  It was exhausting–but well worth it.  So, without further ado, my results:

insanity final_1My goal was not to lose weight (I’m already past my goal weight of 145 lbs).  I feel I’d lose too much strength, and have too little body fat to achieve pregnancy, so I’m happy with my weight.  My goal was basically “good to great.”  I wanted to see if Insanity truly was what the infomercials made it out to be.  Could it give me GREAT results, without touching a weight, and without entering a gym??  Only my body weight?  Could it give me the same cardio results as running? I must admit, I was skeptical.

Now, I’m a believer.  I had no idea how effective it would be!  My arms have not felt this toned since high school (over ten years ago!!) & I have finally finally accepted my legs and butt for what they are: strong, curvy, and just fine 😉  I, like probably most women, have had a love/hate relationship with my body… with sadly to say, more hate than love.  In college, I loathed my legs.  I despised wearing shorts.  Now I’ve realized that though they are not stick legs, or long & lean legs, they are some strong legs.  And I know that because Shaun T (creator of Insanity) put them to the test!  The only muscle group I didn’t think we worked was the biceps… which is hard when you’re just using body weight.  We certainly worked everything else.  I thought my abs were decent beforehand, but we did so much oblique work, now I’m downright proud of what I’ve worked on.

Most of the exercises were challenging for me–all body weight, but nearly all high intensity.  I found myself sweating profusely just 5 minutes into each video, even the so-called “recovery videos.”  Shaun T focuses more on legs than arms, but we still did our fair share of push-ups and shoulder burners.  And I understand his methodology: the leg muscles are the largest in the body, so of course you want them to be strong–you get more calorie-burning bang for your buck that way.  So we squatted, lunged, and jumped away!

I did not achieve a perfect diet during the last 9 weeks, but I sure as heck tried to eat as clean as possible.  I said no to a lot of sweets.  I ate a lot more veggies & quinoa.  My primary drinks were coffee (little cream, no sugar), water, and my daily Shakeology, which really helped with recovery & extra nutrients.  Even though I was utterly exhausted nearly every morning after the workout, I managed to get thru the day, and would sometimes even get my second wind at night!

Out of 63 days, there are 54 workouts, and some of them are doubles (cardio + abs, Fit Test + another workout).  I missed 5, for various reasons.  Being sick in Month 2 was tough, and I did Indoor Insanity (marathon relay) in month 1 that I had to rest for.  But otherwise, I worked my booty off–literally!–and it feels awesome to be an Insanity finisher.  I’ll be sending away for my free shirt tomorrow… 🙂

Here’s a random assortment of pics from the last 9 weeks.  I really had a blast, and although it was very, very challenging & somewhat time consuming (25 min to 60 min, depending on the day), it was ALL worth it.  I love my results and I’d recommend it to anyone looking for an effective workout to get amazing results.  My next workout: Shaun T’s newest, Focus T25.  Starts tomorrow!

This entry was posted in Beachbody Coach, Insanity, running, Shakeology, trying new things. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My Insanity Experience

  1. Alexia M. says:

    woohoo! Way to go, V! I tried to go back to Insanity shortly after you started, but it was too high impact for me at the time because of an overuse injury from running. I’m impressed! Being able to finish the Whole 60 days takes major dedication. 🙂 I’ve got the love/hate with the thighs too. Looking fabulous 🙂

  2. CorgiMum says:

    You look amazing, V!!! WOW!!! 8 inches is a lot!! You look soooo strong!!!

  3. CorgiMum says:

    PS – my broken ankle and I are super jealous of your ability to work out 😉

  4. jayme says:

    Vanessa,
    First off yo ulook great, and so proud of you! My boyfriend and I just started insanity. I’m looking for the same thing you are, not losing weight but just getting toned, glad to see that the hard work paid off!

    Jayme

Leave a Reply

